Tuned In

Are Critics Any Better Than Emmys? 2011 TCA Nominations Announced

  • Share
  • Read Later

Critics spend much of the rest of the year griping about the awards choices of other organizations, so it’s only fair that once a year we allow you to do the same to us. The Television Critics Association (of which I’m a member) today announced its nominations for the 2011 TCA Awards. (The group is no relation to the Broadcast Television Critics Association, of which I am not a member, which holds its own awards June 20. That group consists on TV and online journalists, many of whom, as far as I can tell, cover the business but are not actually critics.)

The list is unsurprisingly heavy on, well, critics’ favorites; that includes shows doted on by other awards (Modern Family, Mad Men), overlooked by other awards shows (Community, Parks and Recreation) or too new to have yet been in other awards shows (Game of Thrones).

The full release and list appear after the jump—tell us who you would have added or omitted (the eligibility period is roughly the past year, so, e.g., I believe Breaking Bad is ineligible), and who you’d pick from the nominees:

LOS ANGELES (June 13, 2010) – The Television Critics Association (TCA), a media organization with more than 200 professional TV critics and journalists from the United States and Canada, today announced nominations for its 2011 TCA Awards. The 2011 TCA Awards recognize outstanding television programming in the 2010-2011 season, honoring both actors and producers in a variety of categories including news and information, youth, drama and comedy achievements. This year’s 27th annual awards show will include for the first time a category to honor the best TV series in reality programming.

The winners of the 27th Annual TCA Awards will be announced at the invitation-only presentation, Saturday, August 6, 2011, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, as part of the group’s bi-annual industry conference. “Parks and Recreation’s” Nick Offerman serves as host for the non-televised event and is a nominee in the Individual Achievement in Comedy category along with his fellow “Parks and Recreation” cast member Amy Poehler. Both are joined by Ty Burrell (ABC’s “Modern Family), Louis C.K. (FX’s “Louis”), Danny Pudi (NBC’s “Community”) and Jon Stewart, (Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show With Jon Stewart”) as nominees in this category.

“The Television Critics Association’s yearly awards are a prestigious event where seasoned professional TV writers offer their choices for the people and shows bringing the best to TV audiences,” said Television Critics Association President Susan Young. “We do not accept submissions. Nominees represent the TCA’s version of the All-Star team and we take great pride in honoring them.”

In addition to recognizing the year’s finest programming, the TCA Awards bestow a Heritage Award trophy to one long-standing program that has culturally or socially impacted society. This year, the TCA members have nominated some of TV’s most memorable series with CBS’ “The Dick Van Dyke Show,” NBC’s “Freaks and Geeks,” CBS’ “All in the Family” and ABC’s “Twin Peaks” as nominees in this eminent category.

The organization also presents a Career Achievement Award to an individual who has influenced television through his work on the small screen. Nominees include producer Steven Bochco (“Hill Street Blues”), NBC sports executive Dick Ebersol, late-night talk show host David Letterman (“Late Show David Letterman Show”), actor William Shatner (“Star Trek”), actress Cloris Leachman (“The Mary Tyler Moore Show”) and talk show host/network executive Oprah Winfrey (“The Oprah Winfrey Show”).

Below is the complete list of the 2011 Television Critics Association nominees.

Individual Achievement in Drama
1. Steve Buscemi (“Boardwalk Empire,” HBO)
2. Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones,” HBO)
3. Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” AMC)
4. Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife,” CBS)
5. Margo Martindale (“Justified”, FX)
6. Timothy Olyphant (“Justified,” FX)

Individual Achievement in Comedy
1. Ty Burrell (“Modern Family,” ABC)
2. Louis C.K. (“Louis,” FX)
3. Nick Offerman (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)
4. Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)
5. Danny Pudi (“Community,” NBC)
6. Jon Stewart (“The Daily Show,” Comedy Central)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information
1. “If God Is Willing and Da Creek Don’t Rise” (HBO)
2. “Restrepo” (National Geographic Channel)
3. “60 Minutes” (CBS)
4. “The Rachel Maddow Show” (MSNBC)
5. “30 for 30” (ESPN)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming
1. “Amazing Race” (CBS)
2. “Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations” (Travel Channel)
3. “Survivor” (CBS)
4. “The Voice” (NBC)
5. “Top Chef: All Stars” (Bravo)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming
1. “A Children’s Garden of Poetry” (HBO)
2. “iCarly” (Nickelodeon)
3. “Nick News with Linda Ellerbee” (Nickelodeon)
4. “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour” (The Hub)
5. “Sesame Street” (PBS)
6. “Yo Gabba Gabba” (Nick Jr.)

Outstanding New Program
1. “Boardwalk Empire” (HBO)
2. “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
3. “Terriers” (FX)
4. “The Killing” (AMC)
5. “Walking Dead” (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials
1. “Cineme Verite” (HBO)
2. “Downton Abbey: Masterpiece” (PBS)
3. “Mildred Pierce” (HBO)
4. “Sherlock: Masterpiece” (PBS)
5. “Too Big to Fail” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama
1. “Friday Night Lights” (DirecTV/NBC)
2. “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
3. “Justified” (FX)
4. “Mad Men” (AMC)
5. “The Good Wife” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy
1. “Community” (NBC)
2. “Louie” (FX)
3. “Modern Family” (ABC)
4. “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)
5. “Raising Hope” (FOX)

Career Achievement Award
1. Steven Bochco
2. Dick Ebersol
3. Cloris Leachman
4. David Letterman
5. William Shatner
6. Oprah Winfrey

Heritage Award
1. “All in the Family”
2. “Freaks and Geeks”
3. “The Dick Van Dyke Show”
4. “Twin Peaks”

Program of the Year
1. “Boardwalk Empire” (HBO)
2. “Friday Night Lights” (DirecTV/NBC)
3. “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
4. “Justified” (FX)
5. “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)