Mary Poppins and Pulp Fiction To Be Added To The National Film Registry

The films are among 25 titles to be preserved at the Library of Congress

  • Share
  • Read Later

The Library of Congress has announced its list of 25 films to be added to the National Film Registry this year. Among the movies are Walt Disney’s 1964 musical Mary Poppins, Quentin Tarantino’s 1994 crime hit Pulp Fiction, and Michael Moore’s 1989 documentary Roger & Me.

“The National Film Registry stands among the finest summations of more than a century of extraordinary American cinema,” James H. Billington, Librarian of Congress, said in a statement. “This key component of American cultural history, however, is endangered, so we must protect the nation’s matchless film heritage and cinematic creativity.”

The registry dates back to 1989, when the Library of Congress decided to select notable films from American cinema history and preserve them for future generations. The 25 titles selected for 2013 brings the registry up to 625.

The full list for 2013:

Bless Their Little Hearts (1984)

Brandy in the Wilderness (1969)

Cicero March (1966)

Daughter of Dawn (1920)

Decasia (2002)

Ella Cinders (1926)

Forbidden Planet (1956)

Gilda (1946)

The Hole (1962)

Judgment at Nuremberg (1961)

King of Jazz (1930)

The Lunch Date (1989)

The Magnificent Seven (1960)

Martha Graham Early Dance Films: “Heretic,” 1931; “Frontier,” 1936; “Lamentation,” 1943; “Appalachian Spring,” 1944

Mary Poppins (1964)

Men and Dust (1940)

Midnight (1939)

Notes on the Port of St. Francis (1951)

Pulp Fiction (1994)

The Quiet Man (1952)

The Right Stuff (1983)

Roger & Me (1989)

A Virtuous Vamp (1919)

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966)

Wild Boys of the Road (1933)