Tuned In

NBC Sets Its Dates for Fall

  • Share
  • Read Later

NBC's Grimm.

NBC became the last of the major broadcast networks to announce its fall premiere dates yesterday, and it like its peers (despite NBC’s ratings, I’ll still use the term “peers”) is debuting most of its new shows in the traditional late-September premiere week. Among the shows not on this schedule is 30 Rock, which, as announced long ago, is being held for midseason. And the exception to the September premieres is fairytale crime drama Grimm, which is being saved for late October—along with, curiously enough, ABC’s Once Upon a Time. Because Halloween time is when the witches and goblins come out, I guess?

As has been the case with the other networks, NBC is saving some of its more intriguing new shows (Awake and Smash) for midseason. But we will have The Most Important Program on Television, The Sing-Off, to tide us over until then. The schedule after the jump:

UNIVERSAL CITY, Calif. – July 6, 2011 – NBC announced today the premieres of its new Fall 2011 primetime schedule beginning Tuesday, September 13 with new episodes of “Parenthood” — following the final performance episode of “America’s Got Talent” — and continuing the week of September 19 with the Monday debuts of “The Sing-Off” and new drama “The Playboy Club” on that date
On Wednesday, September 14, the new comedies “Up All Night” (10-10:30 p.m. ET) and “Free Agents” (10:30-11 p.m. ET) will debut out of their respective time periods following the season finale of “America’s Got Talent.” Both series also will premiere in their regular time periods with their second original episodes on Wednesday, September 21 (8-8:30 p.m. ET and 8:30-9 p.m. ET, respectively).
The debuts also include the network’s other highly anticipated new series — “Prime Suspect,” “Whitney” and “Grimm” — that will continue through October 21 when NBC rolls out its Friday-night lineup that includes “Grimm” (9-10 p.m. ET).
In addition, the start of the regular season of “Sunday Night Football” will debut on Thursday, September 8 and resume on its regular night on Sunday, September 11 (8-11:30 p.m. ET). “Football Night in America” premieres during the regular season on Sunday, September 11 (7-8 p.m. ET).
Following are the premiere dates for NBC’s Fall 2011 primetime schedule (all times ET; new shows are in upper case):
Thursday, September 8
8-8:30 p.m. “NFL Kickoff Special 2011” (regular season)
8:30-11 p.m. “Sunday Night Football” (regular season)
Sunday, September 11
7-8 p.m. “Football Night in America” (regular season)
8-11:30 p.m. “Sunday Night Football”
Tuesday, September 13
10-11 p.m. “Parenthood”
Wednesday, September 14
8-10 p.m. “America’s Got Talent” (season finale)
10-10:30 p.m. “UP ALL NIGHT”
10:30-11 p.m. “FREE AGENTS”
Monday, September 19
8-10 p.m. “The Sing-Off”
10-11 p.m. “THE PLAYBOY CLUB”
Tuesday, September 20
8-10 p.m. “The Biggest Loser”
Wednesday, September 21
8-8:30 p.m. “UP ALL NIGHT” (regular time period debut with original episode)
8:30-9 p.m. “FREE AGENTS” (regular time period debut with original episode)
9-10 p.m. “Harry’s Law”
10-11 p.m. “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit”
Thursday, September 22
8-8:30 p.m. “Community
8:30-9 p.m. “Parks and Recreation”
9-9:30 p.m. “The Office”
9:30-10 p.m. “WHITNEY”
10-11 p.m. “PRIME SUSPECT”
Friday, September 23
9-11 p.m. “Dateline NBC”
Friday, October 21
8-9 p.m. “Chuck”
9-10 p.m. “GRIMM”
10-11 p.m. “Dateline NBC”
Saturday, September 24
8-9 p.m. “Harry’s Law” (Repeat)
9-10 p.m. “Prime Suspect” (Repeat)
10-11 p.m. “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” (Repeat)